Press / Membership Officer

19/02/2011 / 204

Executive Committee

Heather Neate BA(Hons) IRRV(Hons)

Audit Commission

Heather joined the Audit Commission in 2008 as a founding member of a unit responsible for inspecting housing benefit and council tax benefit services. She decided which services should be inspected, based on poor performance. Her work also involved developing policies and procedures to support the benefits inspection framework from risk assessment, managing the inspection programme and gathering notable practice.

Since 2011, Heather has supported Audit Commission auditors in providing assurance around value for taxpayer’s money across the public sector, including local government housing benefit and council tax benefit subsidy. From December 2012, Heather provides sector policy, information and analysis for the Audit Commission.

Before joining the Audit Commission, Heather worked for 18 years in revenues and benefits services in several different councils, in both the public and private sector. Her last post was as Head of Revenues and Benefits before working as a private consultant. She is an Honours member of the Institute of Revenues, Rating and Valuation, has co-authored a technical reference book on benefit overpayments and is a co-opted member of the Benefit Faculty Board.

Heather is married with two adult children. Her interests include the National Trust and watching sport.


Helen White IRRV (Hons)


Lyndsey Sparrow IRRV Tech, Cert Prof Prac DPS (Open)


Pat Lane IRRV (Hons)


Mark Payne CIPFA Cert FMAAT Tech IRRV

Education Liaison Officer

Ray Hatchard IRRV Tech

Executive Committee

Sharon Hallam IRRV (Hons)

Executive Committee

Hilary Hamilton IRRV (Hons)

Executive Committee

Stuart Dawson IRRV (Hons)

Executive Committee

Chris Dale DMS, IRRV (Hons)

Executive Committee

Andy Milner IRRV (Hons)

Executive Committee

Layla Stephen FIRRV

Executive Committee

Ian Lloyd IRRV Tech

Executive Committee

Donna Dodd IRRV (Hons)

Executive Member

Lynn Barclay IRRV Tech

Executive Committee

Sean Langley FIRRV

Executive Committee

Vicki Mears IRRV Tech

Executive Committee

Rachel McAviney IRRV (Dip)