

IRRV East Midlands Association Annual General Meeting

22nd April 2016 – 10:30

City of Lincoln Council

Present: Ivan Carvath, Andrew Solley, James McKillop, Alan Lemmon, Ruth Mayoh-Bates, Rob Andrews, David Bingham, Simon Hamilton, Mark Fearn, Adrian Johnson, Andrew Everard, Roy Thompson, Claire Moses, Lauren Appleby, Kevin Stewart, Mike Carr, Martin Walmsley, Julian Howell.

Minutes

1. Apologies

<u>Action</u>

- Apologies were received from Rosie Caddy, Alistair Townsend, David Cureton, Tricia Dyson, Andy Hall, Louise Webb and Kathryn Ellis.

2. Minutes of Last AGM – 21st April 2015 at Newark & Sherwood DC

- The minutes of the last AGM were proposed by Ivan Carvath and seconded by David Bingham as a true and accurate record of that meeting and were approved by the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

- Under item number 4, Association Secretary's Report 2014/15, the word "Hinckley" was spelled incorrectly.

4. Association Secretary's Report 2015/16

- 21st April 2015 saw the AGM at Newark & Sherwood District Council.
- On 24th June 2015, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at the City of Lincoln Council with Derrick Brown from DWP and Claire Moses from the City of Lincoln and North Kesteven DC partnership giving a paper on the implementation of Universal Credit.
- On 30th June 2015 the IRRV Inter Association Golf Tournament was held in Rotherham. The East Midlands Association's teams were unsuccessful this year.

- On 21st September 2015, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at Gedling Borough Council with Martin Walmsley of the City of Lincoln and North Kesteven DC partnership and Abdullah Ahmed from the DWP giving a paper on the implementation of the Single Fraud Investigation Service.
- On 5th November 2015, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at Peterborough City Council with Dave Chapman from Rossendales Ltd giving a paper on the changes and challenges faced by the introduction of the TCOG regulations.
- 21st November 2015 saw another successful East Midlands Association dinner dance, held at the Casa Hotel in Chesterfield.
- On 10th December 2015, the Christmas lunch was again held at the Whipper-In Hotel in Oakham.
- On 5th February 2016, an Executive Committee meeting was held at the offices of South Kesteven District Council.

5. Presentation of Association Accounts for year ended 31/12/15

- The Treasurer (Alan Lemmon) presented the Association's audited accounts for the year ended 31st December 2015 to the meeting. These accounts can be viewed on the <u>IRRV East Midlands</u> <u>Association website</u>.
- The Treasurer expressed his thanks to all the sponsors of the Association's Dinner Dance and Christmas Lunch and also to all the authorities that had hosted meetings during the year.
- The Treasurer invited any questions on the accounts from the meeting. No questions were raised.
- Approval of the accounts was proposed by Alan Lemmon, seconded by Kevin Stewart and agreed by the meeting.

6. Installation of Association President for 2016/17

- Ivan Carvath offered his thanks to the Executive Committee for his nomination as President and for the support he received during his presidential year.
- Ivan Carvath offered special thanks to the Association Secretary for his service to the Association.
- Ivan Carvath announced that £775.00 was raised during his presidential year and that the proceeds would be paid to his chosen charity, Bloodwise.
- Ivan Carvath passed the President's chain of office to James McKillop.
- James McKillop presented a silver salva to Ivan Carvath on behalf of the Association to commemorate his Presidential year.
- James McKillop announced that his chosen charity for the forthcoming year is Winston's Wish, which is a childhood bereavement charity.

7. Installation of Association Vice President for 2016/17

- One nomination was proposed by James McKillop for Rosie Caddy as Vice President. This nomination was seconded by Kevin Stewart and unanimously agreed.
- Rosie Caddy was absent from the meeting and so the Vice Presidential chain of office was accepted on her behalf by James McKillop.

8. Election of Executive Committee Officers for 2016/17

- Officers of the Executive Committee were elected as follows:

Andrew Solley

Association Secretary

Alan Lemmon Treasurer

Rob Andrews Assistant Association Secretary

Ruth Mayoh-Bates Education Liaison Officer

Claire Moses Membership Officer

Michael Lacey Auditor

Ashok Thakrar Auditor

- The motion was proposed as a block vote by James McKillop, seconded by Kevin Stewart and agreed unanimously.

9. Election of Executive Committee Members for 2016/17

 No ballot was held for the election of Executive Committee Members as no published proposals were contested. Members of the Executive Committee were elected as follows:

Adrian Johnson

Member of Association Executive Committee

David Bingham

Member of Association Executive Committee

Louise Webb

Member of Association Executive Committee

Simon Hamilton

Member of Association Executive Committee

Mike Carr

Member of Association Executive Committee

- The motion was proposed as a block vote by James McKillop, seconded by Mark Fearn and agreed unanimously.
- The following members were automatically made members of the Executive Committee by virtue of the fact that they are immediate past presidents, or members of National Council in accordance with rule 6 of the Association Rules:

Ivan Carvath

Immediate Past Association President

Mark Fearn

Past Association President 2014/15

Kathryn Ellis Past Association President 2013/14

Andrew Solley

Past Association President 2012/13

Kevin Stewart

IRRV Council Member

Alistair Townsend

IRRV Council Member

10. Formation of Sub-Committee for Education and Training Events

- Members of a sub-committee for the management of education and training events were proposed by James McKillop, as follows:

Ruth Mayoh-Bates Chairman of Education and Training Sub-Committee

James McKillop Member of Education and Training Sub-Committee

Ivan Carvath

Member of Education and Training Sub-Committee

- The proposal was seconded by Alan Lemmon and agreed unanimously.

11. Formation of Sub-Committee for Social Events

- Members of a sub-committee for the management of social events were proposed by James McKillop, as follows:

Andrew Solley

Chairman of Social Events Sub-Committee

James McKillop

Member of Social Events Sub-Committee

Alan Lemmon

Member of Social Events Sub-Committee

- The proposal was seconded by Ruth Mayoh-Bates and agreed unanimously.

12. Results of Election Ballots (if required)

- Item not applicable as no ballot was required.

13. Any Other Business

- None.

Meeting closed at 11:00